San Francisco Shock Win Second Overwatch League Championship

The San Francisco Shock have won their second consecutive Overwatch League season title after defeating the Seoul Dynasty 4-2 in the 2020 Grand Final. The Shock are the first team to ever win two back-to-back Overwatch League titles, after having defeated the Vancouver Titans in last year’s championship. The Shock take home the $1.5 million grand prize.

Like all other esports, the Overwatch League had its own struggles amid the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Partway through the 2020 season, the league moved all of its competitive play online. The play-offs took place online as well, initially splitting up the North American and Asian regions before bringing them back together for the final bracket.

After finishing third in the regular season, the San Francisco Shock advanced to the North American play-offs. The team defeated the Washington Justice in the first round of the play-offs, advancing to meet the Atlanta Reign in the upper bracket semi-finals. After sweeping the Reign aside, the Shock took on first-seed Philadelphia Fusion. With a 3-1 victory, the Shock earned their spot in the international play-off stage.

The Overwatch League’s final bracket took place online with all players competing from the Asian region. The Shock raced to a Grand Final spot with 3-2 wins over the Seoul Dynasty and the Shanghai Dragons. Despite their early loss, the Seoul Dynasty fought through the lower bracket to meet the Shock for a Grand Final rematch.

The Grand Final was played in a first-to-four format, with the Shock taking early wins on Oasis and King’s Row. Seoul evened up the series scoreline, taking back-to-back victories on Hanamura and Gibraltar. The series then went to Busan, where the Shock put themselves on series point. A 2-1 win on Hollywood saw the Shock take the series victory 4-2.

This is the San Francisco Shock’s second Overwatch League championship title. Shock players who were on the team during last year’s championship are now the first to win two Overwatch League season titles. The team takes home a $1.5 million grand prize, while the Seoul Dynasty claims $750,000. The Shock’s star DPS Nam-joo “Striker” Kwon was named MVP of the 2020 Finals.

The Overwatch League will return with Season 4 in 2021.

Source: Read Full Article