Mortal Kombat 11 News Being Announced Thursday–"They Are Koming"

Mortal Kombat 11 producer Ed Boon has announced a new sales milestone for the fighting game, and teased an impending announcement. The NetherRealm studio founder announced on Twitter that MK11 had sold 8 million units since its launch in April 2019.

The potential bigger news of his tweet, though, was that a new announcement is coming this week. Boon said that “what’s next for MK11” will be shown, suggesting this will be news surrounding the current game, not a new game or the long-rumored Injustice 3. He did not announce a Kombat Kast, but a subsequent tweet shared on Tuesday by the official Mortal Kombat sets a date and time: October 8 at 6 AM PT / 9 AM ET. A brief video, which you can see below, shows Baraka running through a jungle. The accompanying text says, “They are koming,” which sounds like a tease for new characters (and the jungle setting may point to Rambo, who was previously leaked as a new MK11 character). It’s unclear if this will be a livestream, trailer release, or something else.

MK11 News/Possible Stream Time

  • 6 AM PT, October 8
  • 9 AM ET, October 8
  • 2 PM BST, October 8
  • 12 AM AET, October 9

With next-gen consoles (ahem, konsoles) coming soon, this could be an announcement of PS5 and Xbox Series X/S versions or upgrades. Or it could be a whole new round of DLC altogether, as leaks have suggested more characters on the way. So far NetherRealm has added a slew of additional characters to the mix, along with the story-focused epilogue Aftermath. That update added some new features like Friendships and new finishers for free as well.

“Mortal Kombat 11 remains one of the best fighting games of this console generation, and the recent free update makes it better,” Edmond Tran wrote in GameSpot’s review. “Aftermath introduces a couple of great characters, and the expanded story definitely has its highs, but it’s not essential to your enjoyment of an already superb game.”

Source: Read Full Article